it is PATA (IDE), Ultra DMA-66. Cable looks to be some kind of weird
proprietary 40 wire which is not as wide as a standard 40, but is
actually half as wide as a standard 80 wire. Thank you Sony.
No, I looked into that one. it is using DMA, not PIO.
This system does not have Nero on it, just Sonic. It does not come with a
lot of helper tools, but it has told me that the drive in question is a
Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-108 running firmware rev. 1.10 Double Layer.
I have DVD Identifier installed though:
http://dvd.identifier.cdfreaks.com/
it is the most current version, but development on the app seems to have
ended on Jan 10, 1999.
Here is what it says about the drive and a disc from my spindle:
** INFO : Drive = PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-108 - [FW 1.10] - [ATAPI]
** INFO : Write Capabilities = DVD+R DVD+R-DL DVD+RW
** INFO : Write Capabilities = DVD-R DVD-RW
** INFO : Disc = [DVD-R:RITEKF1]
** INFO : Reference Speed : 1x DVD = 1385 kBps
** INFO : An Writeable Disc Is Recommended For Accurate Results
** INFO : Write Speeds (Supported By This Drive On This Disc) Listed Below
** INFO : GET PERFORMANCE Write Speed Descriptor(s)
Descriptor #1 = 5540 kBps ( 4.00x) - [CLV/Non-Pure CAV]
** INFO : MODE SENSE Write Speed Descriptor(s) [Legacy Command]
** WARNING : MODE SENSE Is Obsolete And Not Always Properly Supported
Descriptor #1 = 5540 kBps ( 4.00x) - [CLV/Non-Pure CAV]
I am going to see if I can find a newer firmware version for this drive.
Maybe that will end the problem.
--
John Corliss BS206. No ad, CD, commercial, cripple, demo, nag, share,
spy, time-limited, trial or web wares, OR warez for me, please: just
freeware- which I define as legally obtainable, local install computer
programs that can be used indefinitely at no cost, monetary or otherwise.
Filtering out messages containing b7r7tn@gmail.com in the "From:" header
will knock out a lot of the forgeries and trolling in this group. I also
recommend filtering out any messages which are crossposted to other
newsgroups.
Forger-trolls use altered headers, rogue services and anonymous
remailers and feeds to hide their identities and to forge messages from
others. Unless otherwise noted, you can at least block messages from
these sources by setting up filters based on the path header for the
following domains: aioe.org, alt.net, anonymous, astraweb.com,
datemas.de, dizum.com, ecn.org, enfer-du-nord.net,
frell.theremailer.net, goblin.stu.neva.ru, google.com, googlegroups.com,
mail2news, mixmaster.*, mixmin, newshosting.com, newsreader.com,
octanews.net, open-news-network.org, reece.net.au (in the Message-ID
header), remailer, rip.ax.lt, tioat.net, usenet4all.se, xsusenet.com,
x-privat.org, etc. (as they appear).